Cricket Australia – Aiming to please!

It was in 1977 that Kerry Packer envisaged a new look for the sport of cricket, a fast paced, action filled half a day that had colour and character… A fan’s cricket if you like.

Fast forward to 2003 and the ECB decided that cricket needed a second shake up, thus leading to the birth of Twenty20 cricket, a shorter, sharper, 90-minute spectacle and most importantly, a game for everyone to enjoy.

Cricket Australia has jumped all over the chance to increase publicity for the sport, becoming the first country to host a Twenty 20 International and now taking the KFC Big Bash national format to a whole new level. The Big Bash League, as it will be known, will debut in December with a completely new look. After tampering with the 50-over version of the game last summer, CA have sent the State-against-State concept out the window and opened up a whole new world that cricket in Australia hasn’t yet seen, that being a team in every state, including two in both Melbourne and Sydney.

Following the lead of their English and Indian Counterparts, the Big Bash League is set to be just as big and rival both the Indian Premier League and the T20 County Championships. Out with the State-against-State, and in with the interstate rivalries. Local derby’s and showcase games, two things that cricket hasn’t seen in a while with the new and improved T20 format, will become a reality and bring the crowds by the thousands. The team locations, names, colours and venues are listed below, one from each state and two from both NSW and Melbourne (Name, Colour and Venue):

Adelaide Strikers, Blue, Adelaide Oval
Brisbane Heat, Teal, Gabba
Hobart Hurricanes, Purple, Bellerive Oval
Perth Scorchers, Orange, WACA Ground
Melbourne Renegades, Red, Etihad Stadium
Melbourne Stars, Green, MCG
Sydney Sixers, Pink, SCG
Sydney Thunder, Electric Green, ANZ Stadium

(Courtesy of Cricket Australia)

The Big Bash League is set to take the country by storm as Capital Cities will host these new sides, with fans being able to be close to the action. In Melbourne, games are to be played at both the MCG and Etihad Stadium and in Sydney, the SCG and ANZ stadium will host the Sixers and the Thunder. Cricket Australia have made a point to distinguish the Big Bash League from traditional forms of the game, as seen with the brighter new colours which have been adopted in order to keep away from those of the State Competition. Adding to this, the names have been changed to give home to these sides within their respective Cities, but also to add some excitement to the sport.

Melbourne will play host to the Stars and Renegades and Victorians are already looking forward to this competition as much as anyone else as it brings to the City another local rivalry. In addition to this, the players that have been named for their respective teams ooze nothing but class. The Renegades have signed all-time T20 highest run scorer Brad Hodge, as well as Andrew MacDonald and South Australian quick Shaun Tait. Their cross-town rivals, the Stars, have managed to sign the majority of Bushrangers players to their franchise, including Australian T20 skipper Cameron White, David Hussey, Peter Siddle and West Australian Batsman Adam Voges.

The competition is sure to set the Australian cricket scene alight this summer and the new and improved format will ensure crowds flock to games right around the country. It all kicks off December, it’s a T20 revolution.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s